Support the Café

Search our Site

TEC Church planting: A call for grant applications and logo designs

TEC Church planting: A call for grant applications and logo designs

From The Episcopal Church Office of Public Affairs:

Advisory Group puts church planting efforts into motion

The General Convention Advisory Group on Church Planting has announced a series of initiatives designed to place church-planting efforts into motion for The Episcopal Church.

The Advisory Group was established through Resolution D005 of the 78th General Convention in July 2015 and called for the creation of “a church-wide network for planting congregations, training and recruiting planters; and establishing new congregations each triennium.” See full text here.

The Advisory Group is also working closely with Latino Ministries to support and develop new Spanish-speaking and bilingual congregations. Additionally the group has been charged with the distribution of further funding for Missional Enterprise Zones.

“We are building a new community,” Advisory Group member the Rev. Zack Nyein noted.  “We are developing a community of church planters and those interested in the work of church planting.”

Information on Church Planting initiative is here.

To that end, the Advisory Group has announced a design contest for a new logo to depict church planting for The Episcopal Church.

“We invite artists and dreamers from throughout The Episcopal Church to participate in the visioning process,” Erendira Jimenez-Pike said.   “A $500 cash prize will be awarded to the most inspiring title and logo for a renewed church planting movement across the church.”

Submission instructions and image specifics are located here.  Deadline is May 1.

For information contact

Members of the  Advisory Group and their dioceses are:

The Rev. Jane Gerdsen, chairperson, Southern Ohio; the Rev. Valerie Bailey Fischer, Newark; Erendira Jimenez-Pike, Kentucky; the Rev. Michael Michie, Dallas; the Rev. Alex Montes Vela, Texas; the Rev. Katie Nakamura Rengers, Alabama; the Rev. Zachary Nyein, East Tennessee; the Rev. David Perkins, Lexington; the Rev. Canon Jesus Reyes, El Camino Real; Bishop George Sumner, Jr., Dallas; the Rev. Canon Janet Waggoner, Fort Worth. The Rev. Canon Frank Logue of Georgia and the Rev. Canon Tanya Wallace of Western Massachusetts are liaisons from Executive Council.  Presiding Bishop Michael Curry and President of the House of Deputies the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings are Ex Officio members.  The Rev. Tom Brackett is the staff liaison.


Café Comments?

Our comment policy requires that you use your real first and last names and provide an email address (your email will not be published). Comments that use non-PG rated language, include personal attacks, that are not provable as fact or that we deem in any way to be counter to our mission of fostering respectful dialogue will not be posted.

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bill Reeder

Here’s not nearly enough money, but a charming logo – bon chance!

Another circumstance of the national church getting involved in an area best reserved for dioceses, but it will justify more meetings, more travel, more networking, more of [can’t continue list because of sound of Jesus weeping].

Fr Paul

[Welcome first time commenter. For future comments, please note we require first and last names.]

We would very much appreciate a church plant right in the middle of London England.

Support the Café
Past Posts

The Episcopal Café seeks to be an independent voice, reporting and reflecting on the Episcopal Church and the Anglican tradition.  The Café is not a platform of advocacy, but it does aim to tell the story of the church from the perspective of Progressive Christianity.  Our collective sympathy, as the Café, lies with the project of widening the circle of inclusion within the church and empowering all the baptized for the role to which they have been called as followers of Christ.

The opinions expressed at the Café are those of individual contributors, and, unless otherwise noted, should not be interpreted as official statements of a parish, diocese or other organization. The art and articles that appear here remain the property of their creators.

All Content  © 2017 Episcopal Café