Support the Café
Search our site

Re-imagine the Episcopal Church on October 7

Re-imagine the Episcopal Church on October 7

The Task Force to Re-imagine the Episcopal Church (TREC) has released an invitation to attend a live webcast of a churchwide meeting on October 7 at 7:30 PM ET:

600426_573991912619954_1695884243_n.pngAs directed in its enabling resolution C095 approved by the 77th General Convention in 2012, the Task Force to Reimagine the Episcopal Church (TREC) will convene a churchwide meeting on October 2 at 7:30 pm Eastern time (6:30 pm Central/5:30 pm Mountain/4:30 pm Pacific/3:30 pm Alaska/1:30 pm Hawaii).

The purpose of the meeting is “to receive responses to the proposed recommendations to be brought forward to the 78th General Convention.”

The meeting will be webcast live from Washington National Cathedral. Although the meeting will be open to the entire church, TREC encourages attendance from each diocese: a bishop, a lay deputy, a clerical deputy, and one person under the age of 35.

There is no fee to attend in person or to watch the live webcast. However, registration for in-person attendance is requested; register here. Registration is not required but is encouraged for viewing the webcast.

The planned format will be short concise presentations followed by substantive question and comment periods. Questions, concerns and comments will be taken from the live audience in addition to email and twitter. Questions can be emailed here reimaginetec@gmail.com or on Twitter here @ReimagineTEC.

TREC plans to draw from the comments, concerns and questions raised during this event to influence and fine-tune proposals currently under consideration during its final meeting immediately following the churchwide gathering on October 3 and 4.

TREC’s final report to General Convention is due by November 30 for the 78th General Convention in Salt Lake City, Utah in July 2015.

“TREC is especially grateful for the significant financial underwriting from Trinity Church Wall Street to supplement the budget provided by General Convention as well as the generous provision of space and technical support by Washington National Cathedral and the Diocese of Washington,” noted the Very Rev. Craig Loya and Katy George, TREC co-conveners. “Such generosity was critical to making this event possible.”

For more info, questions or comments, contact TREC members at reimaginetec@gmail.com

Dislike (0)
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Facebooktwitterpinterestlinkedinmail

Café Comments?

Our comment policy requires that you use your real first and last names and provide an email address (your email will not be published). Comments that use non-PG rated language, include personal attacks, that are not provable as fact or that we deem in any way to be counter to our mission of fostering respectful dialogue will not be posted.

2 Comments
Newest
Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mary Anne Chesarek

I'm confused. Is it the 2nd or the 7th? In the context of the announcement, I assume it's the 2nd.

Like (0)
Dislike (0)
Rod Gillis

re-imagine there's no religion, its easy if you try, with apologies to John Lennon.

Like (0)
Dislike (0)
Facebooktwitterrss
Support the Café
Past Posts
2020_001

The Episcopal Café seeks to be an independent voice, reporting and reflecting on the Episcopal Church and the Anglican tradition.  The Café is not a platform of advocacy, but it does aim to tell the story of the church from the perspective of Progressive Christianity.  Our collective sympathy, as the Café, lies with the project of widening the circle of inclusion within the church and empowering all the baptized for the role to which they have been called as followers of Christ.

The opinions expressed at the Café are those of individual contributors, and, unless otherwise noted, should not be interpreted as official statements of a parish, diocese or other organization. The art and articles that appear here remain the property of their creators.

All Content  © 2017 Episcopal Café