Support the Café

Search our Site

NC names nominees for Bishop Suffragan post

NC names nominees for Bishop Suffragan post

The Diocese of North Carolina has announced a notably young and predominately female slate of nominees to stand for election as Bishop Suffragan:

The Rev. Susan Buchanan, Rector, Christ Episcopal Church, North Conway, NH (Diocese of New Hampshire)

The Rev. Canon Amy Real Coultas, Canon Missioner, Christ Church Cathedral, Louisville, KY, and Episcopal Chaplain, University of Louisville Interfaith Center, Louisville, KY (Diocese of Kentucky)

The Rev. Lisa Fischbeck, Vicar, Episcopal Church of the Advocate, Chapel Hill, NC (Diocese of North Carolina)

The Rev. Matthew Heyd, Priest and Director of Faith in Action, Trinity Church Wall Street, New York, NY (Diocese of New York)

The Rev. Anne Hodges-Copple, Rector, St. Luke’s Episcopal Church, Durham, NC (Diocese of North Carolina)

In a press release from the Diocese, Bishop Michael Curry said, “We are praying for a Bishop Suffragan who will be a missionary bishop and partner with us as we work to proclaim, live and witness to the gospel of Jesus in the mission context of the new 21st century Galilee.The Nominating Committee has prayerfully identified five priests capable of being just that.”

(Watch Bishop Curry’s video announcement here.)

The press release continues:

The nominees will participate in a visit to the Diocese January 8-12, 2013, during which time they will meet with clergy and participate in three walk-abouts with clergy and lay people of the Diocese. During the walk-abouts, nominees will have time to address those present in a general session and to answer questions in smaller groups.

The Bishop Suffragan election will take place during the 197th Annual Convention of the Diocese of North Carolina January 25-26, 2013, at the Benton Convention Center in Winston-Salem, NC. The election will be broadcast via livestream video. The consecration of the bishop-elect will take place at the historic Duke Chapel in Durham, NC, on June 15, 2013, with the Most Rev. Dr. Katharine Jefferts Schori presiding.

Please pray for the nominees and for our Diocese as we go through this important and exciting time in our life together.


Café Comments?

Our comment policy requires that you use your real first and last names and provide an email address (your email will not be published). Comments that use non-PG rated language, include personal attacks, that are not provable as fact or that we deem in any way to be counter to our mission of fostering respectful dialogue will not be posted.

Support the Café
Past Posts

The Episcopal Café seeks to be an independent voice, reporting and reflecting on the Episcopal Church and the Anglican tradition.  The Café is not a platform of advocacy, but it does aim to tell the story of the church from the perspective of Progressive Christianity.  Our collective sympathy, as the Café, lies with the project of widening the circle of inclusion within the church and empowering all the baptized for the role to which they have been called as followers of Christ.

The opinions expressed at the Café are those of individual contributors, and, unless otherwise noted, should not be interpreted as official statements of a parish, diocese or other organization. The art and articles that appear here remain the property of their creators.

All Content  © 2017 Episcopal Café