The Vatican stated on Saturday that the bread used for the Eucharist could not be entirely gluten free, although “low gluten” bread was allowable. GMOs, on the other hand, are perfectly acceptable for the Host. This declaration was prompted by a need perceived by Cardinal Robert Sarah of the Vatican’s Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments because Eucharistic bread and wine can be bought in a variety of places, including the internet. Furthermore, in a letter last month to bishops, Sarah noted that the bread should be made by people “distinguished by their integrity,” and should not contain either fruit or sugar (this being a “grave abuse”). The wine also must be of distinguished provenance, and juice should not be used as a substitute. Those who cannot tolerate alcohol could drink mustum, a thick, non-fermented grape juice. What those with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance are supposed to do is anyone’s guess.