Support the Café
Search our site

Episcopal Church teams with ecumenical partners for 2018 Poor People’s Campaign

Episcopal Church teams with ecumenical partners for 2018 Poor People’s Campaign

A release from the Public Affairs Office of The Episcopal Church (link):

Episcopal Church teams with ecumenical partners for 2018 Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival

Webinar available on February 26

In honor of the 50th Anniversary of the Poor People’s Campaign organized by the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., in 1968, the Episcopal Church is teaming with ecumenical partners including the National Council of Churches into action, ministry, and official relationship with the 2018 Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival.

The Episcopal Church Executive Council approved a resolution at its January meeting “acknowledging the unfinished work of the 1968 Poor Peoples Campaign, celebrate the revival of the movement as the 2018 Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival.”

The resolution concluded that the Poor People’s Campaign will “recognize these issues of poverty and justice severely affect our domestic and global brothers and sisters and commit to ministry of active engagement, advocacy, and support throughout the Episcopal Church.”

“This is an important partnership and we are enthused that the Episcopal Church is teaming with others in this important initiative,” commented the Rev. Melanie Mullen, Director of Reconciliation, Justice and Creation Care.  “The work of the Episcopal Church through General Convention and Executive Council fully embodies the values of the gospel that underlie the Jesus Movement.”

For Episcopalians and the Episcopal Church, the goals of the Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival are:

  • To live into our partnerships with the National Council of Churches and with the Poor People’s Campaign;
  • To rally Episcopalians on the issues of poverty and justice;
  • To ask for consideration in joining marches occurring nationally on April 4, the anniversary of the assassination of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Sunday, May 13, Mother’s Day;
  • To encourage all interested Episcopalians to sign up here to participate.

 

Resources

Episcopal resources to understand the significance of Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival, and for ways the individuals and congregations can enhance their ministry, see here.

For information on Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival, see here.

Webinar

To help understand the 2018 Poor People’s Campaign initiative and to explore ways to participate, a one-hour webinar has been scheduled for Monday, February 26 at 7 pm Eastern/6 pm Central/5 pm Mountain/4 pm Pacific/3 pm Alaska/2 pm Hawaii.  Registration is available here.

For more information on Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival contact the Rev. Melanie Mullen.


Hat tip to

Dislike (0)
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Facebooktwitterpinterestlinkedinmail

Café Comments?

Our comment policy requires that you use your real first and last names and provide an email address (your email will not be published). Comments that use non-PG rated language, include personal attacks, that are not provable as fact or that we deem in any way to be counter to our mission of fostering respectful dialogue will not be posted.

1 Comment
Newest
Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kurt Hill

Right on! This is exactly the type of work The Episcopal Church should be supporting!

Like (3)
Dislike (0)
Facebooktwitterrss
Support the Café
Past Posts
2020_001

The Episcopal Café seeks to be an independent voice, reporting and reflecting on the Episcopal Church and the Anglican tradition.  The Café is not a platform of advocacy, but it does aim to tell the story of the church from the perspective of Progressive Christianity.  Our collective sympathy, as the Café, lies with the project of widening the circle of inclusion within the church and empowering all the baptized for the role to which they have been called as followers of Christ.

The opinions expressed at the Café are those of individual contributors, and, unless otherwise noted, should not be interpreted as official statements of a parish, diocese or other organization. The art and articles that appear here remain the property of their creators.

All Content  © 2017 Episcopal Café