Diocese of Texas announces slate for next bishop suffragan


The Episcopal Diocese of Texas has announced the slate of candidates for their next Bishop Suffragan, to succeed the Rt. Rev. Dena A. Harrison who retires at the end of 2018.  The next Bishop Suffragan is set to be elected on February 22, 2019.  The slate, announced on Tuesday, comprises three women, all of whom are already serving in the Diocese of Texas.

The three candidates on the slate are: the Rev. Hannah E. Atkins Romero, Rector of Trinity Episcopal Church, Houston; the Rev. Canon Glenice Robinson-Como, Canon Missioner for Outreach and Justice Ministries, Christ Church Cathedral, Houston; and The Rev. Canon Kathryn ‘Kai’ Ryan, Canon to the Ordinary and Chief Operating Officer, Diocese of Texas.

The election process also includes a petition process which opened on November 27 and concludes on December 3, at which point the slate could potentially grow.

In a press release from the Diocese of Texas, the Rev. Chuck Treadwell, Search Committee Chair and Rector of St. David’s, Austin, stated,

“Each person brings unique gifts and disposition, and each has secular and church experience that makes them qualified to do the work of this particular office…Each would work well with Bishop Andy Doyle and complement the gifts of our other bishops and diocesan staff.”

The newly elected Bishop Suffragan will join a team of three other bishops in the Diocese of Texas: the Rt. Rev. C. Andrew Doyle, Bishop Diocesan; the Rt. Rev. Jeff W. Fisher, Bishop Suffragan, and the Rt. Rev. Hector Monterroso, Bishop Assistant. The duties of the newly elected Bishop Suffragan will include particular oversight of the western region of the Diocese.

In advance of the election, there will be an opportunity for members of the Diocese of Texas to meet the candidates on January 5, 2019 at Camp Allen.





Dislike (2)